Michael Zavros won the Mosman Art Prize in 2016 with this portrait of his daughter.

Entries are now open for the 2020 Mosman Art Prize. The annual exhibition will take place 26 August – 4 October at Mosman Art Gallery.

The Mosman Art Prize is the longest running and most prestigious municipal art prize in Australia. Winning entries form the basis of the Mosman Art Collection, a valuable and historic collection that surveys Australian painting since 1947.

The Mosman Art Prize is an acquisitive award of $50,000 sponsored by Mosman Council.

Artist Jane Guthleben was a 2019 finalist with this stunning work.

Previous winners form a roll call of Australian art luminaries; Grace Cossington Smith, Nancy Borlase, Lloyd Rees, Guy Warren, Elwyn Lynn, Margo Lewers, Peter Laverty, Jenny Sages, Noel McKenna, Fan Dongwang, Elisabeth Cummings, Tim Johnson, Adam Cullen, Jasper Knight, Guan Wei and Michael Zavros. Margaret Olley was the inaugural winner in 1947. Austinmer-based artist Paul Kelleher was awarded the Mosman Art Prize in 2019.

The 2020 Mosman Art Prize will be judged by Alexie Glass-Kantor, Executive Director of Artspace, Sydney and the curator of the Australian Pavilion at the 59th International Art Exhibition of la Biennale di Venezia. Past adjudicators include notable Australian art figures such as Margaret Preston, John Olsen, Tim Storrier, Jenny Sages, Edmund Capon, Margaret Olley and John McDonald.